Society’s Darts

A young man toys with a hand made joint,
revolutions at a boiling point.
A mother cries, why don’t the children?
The Eagle flies with a broken wing.
Some flowers bloom and others wilt,
some children grow strait, and some of them tilt.
We can’t blame the, there is a tide,
that ponders if our Nation’s died.
A young man sits to study his books,
but he sees the world, he sees the crooks.
He can’t go on there’s something wrong,
he can’t get up, he’s not that strong.
Another man looks outside his cell,
he stares at the world and wishes it hell.
But he’ll never know, he’ll never see,
he feels as though he’ll never be free.
An old man stands with a dollar bill,
he may be old, but he’s human still.
Standing without a hat on his head,
society wishes he were dead.
A young boy kneels at night to pray,
he cries LORD won’t you save us this day?
The pews are full, but no one hears,
and a man in the pew sits, full of fears.
Weeds and waste gather ’round the brain,
distortion of truth leaves society’s stain.
Some try to run, but it does no good,
If think they’d change, if they thought they should.
I’ve been around most everywhere,
I’ve seen loneliness, I’ve seen despair.
I’ve looked inside of lonely hearts,
I’ve seen the scars of society’s darts.

 

About Mike

I'm a native of Chicago, but have spent the last 20 years living in the Ozarks with my wife of 25 years. Some of my favorite things to do other than write is to BBQ, smoke meat, and brew craft beers. I also write a blog on Christian Living which you can visit at www.YourSpiritMindandBody.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Society’s Darts

  1. Man without God is ultimately man without hope. May the world see the life and truth of Jesus displayed in us every single day. Thanks Mike.

  2. Oh the webs we spin, or darts we throw, in this world that’s not our home. . .

    “The pews are full, but no one hears” is going to stick with me. Thanks for stirring my heart, Mike!

Leave a comment